Top 5 major problems solved in podcasting

Jeffrey Boopathy
4 min readJun 9, 2020

Hey, guys so in this article, I have shared a clip of the episode that I recorded with Agnes Bilik. She is an expert in the field of podcasting and is the host/producer of the podcast Raw and Real. You can listen to the whole podcast by clicking here.

Audio:
http://bit.ly/TheTeenWhisperer

Video:
http://bit.ly/jeffreyboopathyjyoutube

But in today’s post, I will help you get over the three major problems that podcasters face while doing an interview or before the interview. It will be in a conversational manner. So if you have any doubts or couldn’t understand the technique then comment below. I would be happy to help.

1. How to get more guests?

If you like recording your first, let’s say five episodes. And then you got some feedback, especially of what you can change and how you can become better. Uh, I think one of the best strategies is just like, if you had a guest on at the end, just ask them if there’s someone they can connect you to.

Um, so they can, they maybe have someone in their network who is more non-person and that already is. A little bit like a step up like a letter and besides set.

So if you’re approaching someone who is more known, so first of all, don’t be discouraged because they’re all humans

2. When they ask, why I should get onto your podcast?

It’s all about how you approach it. So just make sure to show them the benefit. Just make sure to. Give them some clips or some kind of like easy, fast things, how they can check out what you’re doing. And if you have like a good branding to the outside, let’s say like, you have been nice website and you have nice designs of how it looks like, and you can really show them that you’re promoting the episode a lot that you’re doing like five posts about this episode on various sites on social media and, uh, Again, then you tell them a little bit, a nice story.

Um, then it just works. But the thing is it’s not going to work maybe the first time and maybe not the second time. So it’s just important to keep going because yeah, not everyone is just going to be enthusiastic because you have to imagine those are also busy people, so just don’t be discouraged and keep going.

3. How to improve your podcasting skill?

Ask for feedback about the message that you’re writing, because especially if you reach out to 10 people and no one is responding, there may be your pitches wrong. Maybe you’re just like approaching it from the wrong angle. So it’s really good to get like feedback, um, to change your approach and then you’ll see better results.

4. How to overcome failure?

So, first of all, um, two things. So the first thing is if you’re going to have someone on your podcast who is a little bit more established their time, it’s usually planned throughout the day, which means that they won’t have the time to take your podcasts out.

So probably they won’t really even be aware when you’re publishing is, and they definitely won’t follow up with a result. I can promise you that. And the second part about it is, well, if podcasts are something that takes time. So for me personally, it also, if I check now the first episodes that I published back in November still get traction.

So it’s not necessarily that you publish an episode and the second day, you’ll get a message from someone. Well, like sometimes it takes two weeks. Sometimes it takes a month to get there. Um, so it’s just really important to keep the context here

5. How to leverage your writing skills to get more guests?

Host: So first is that what was your expectation?

When you are like, you know, commented on my post that, okay, this guy, okay. You may have checked out my podcast link or maybe not, but what was the expectation like, you know, when you’re coming onto my podcast, what was the expectation?

Agnes: Honestly, for me personally, I really like connecting with people and I really like networking with people.

And, uh, I was just curious what it was about and just like your writing really appealed to me. So, uh, I think it’s just important to be open and, uh, again, to take it also as a learning experience, I mean, there are many things that I can learn from you as well. Yeah. And to have that mindset with like our, no matter who you’re going to meet, you know, it’s just like be nice to this person.

It’s a human and you can learn from them as well. So, uh, how great would it be if everyone would be just like open around us and, uh, trying to help out other people and just like. You know, connecting. Yeah. I think the world will be really happy if there’s something like that happens.

P.S — Be a human first, then be a sales guy

Thanks for reading the article guys. Please let me know what you feel about the topics. You are the ones that make me post more articles like this. I would love to get your feedback about this.

--

--

Jeffrey Boopathy

🎙Building my first Saas product | 5+ years in podcasting | Let's connect on LinkedIn -> https://www.linkedin.com/in/jeffreyboopathy/